Imaging Physics

Contact Us

Imaging Physics
Room ON2118
675 McDermot Ave
Winnipeg, MB R3E 0V9
Imaging.Physics@cancercare.mb.ca
Phone: 204-787-4145
Fax: 204-775-1684

Service Head , Imaging Physics & Radiation Protection:
Ingvar Fife, Ph.D., CRadP, CSci, MIPEM
204-787-2213
ifife@cancercare.mb.ca

Ultrasound and MR Specialists
Daniel Rickey, Ph.D, MCCPM
204-787-1764
drickey@cancercare.mb.ca

Lawrence Ryner, PhD
204-787-8537
lryner@cancercare.mb.ca

X-ray, CT and Mammography Specialists
Idris Elbakri, Ph.D. MCCPM
204-787-2856
ielbakri@cancercare.mb.ca

Harry Ingleby, Ph.D. MCCPM
204-787-2126
hingleby@cancercare.mb.ca

Nuclear Medicine Specialists
Samantha Eustace, M.Sc., MCCPM
204-787-8619
seustace@cancercare.mb.ca

Mahmoud Al-Abedi, M.Sc., DABSNM
204-787-4703
malabedi@cancercare.mb.ca

Physics Associate:
Mile Calic
204-787-1737
mcalic@cancercare.mb.ca

The Imaging Physics Department is home to Manitoba‚Äôs experts in medical imaging technology and radiological physics. Our team supports health care professionals using medical imaging equipment in maximizing patient benefit and reducing patient risk.  We provide expertise in radiography, computed tomography, ultrasound, magnetic resonance imaging, nuclear medicine and radiation safety.

Our professional standards are defined by the Canadian Organization of Medical Physics and the Canadian College of Physicists in Medicine.

Physicists contribute to patient care by:

  • Optimizing medical imaging procedures to achieve diagnostic quality at low dose;
  • Developing, implementing and overseeing quality control programs
  • Supporting the compliance of diagnostic imaging departments with regulatory requirements.  
  • Advise on the purchasers of imaging equipment
  • Educate health care professionals, health care administrators, medical imaging users, students, resident and patients in radiological physics.
  • Conduct academic research in medical imaging physics.

Our work is multidisciplinary and we contribute our expertise to many programs in the health care sector, including diagnostic imaging, surgery, dentistry, obstetrics, cardiology, cancer screening, urology, speech and language pathology and orthopedics.

Guidance for Quality Control

To assist diagnostic imaging sites with the development and implementation of equipment quality control (QC) programs for the various imaging modalities, the Imaging Physics Department has developed modality-specific quality control guidance documents. The documents provide a broad outline of the components of typical QC programs. They do not describe tests in detail. Actual QC programs may differ depending on the diagnostic imaging equipment age, patient load and available resources.


In addition, the following reference documents maybe useful for the establishment of the quality control programs.

The Imaging Physics Department at CancerCare Manitoba provides physics testing for diagnostic imaging equipment, and can assist diagnostic imaging departments in setting up QC programs, training staff to perform QC tests and identifying appropriate QC tools.

You can contact the Imaging Department at Imaging.Physics@cancercare.mb.ca or by calling 204-787-4145.